Whole-Food Plant Based Vs Vegan Diet

Here’s a great post about the distinction between the terms “whole foods, plant based” and “vegan”. I used to describe my diet as a whole foods, plant based diet, but switched to using the term vegan because I was getting tired of explaining to people why I didn’t use vegan in the first place.
Well, here’s a great explanation of just that, and I might just start using the whole foods, plant based diet term again.

Health Room Blog

By Luke Jones. Follow him on Twitter and Facebook. 

I wrote an article a few weeks back sharing my reasons for eating a whole-food plant based diet. The response was pretty positive, and the article was featured on the Teen VGN Blog, so thank you all very much for that!

One thing you may have noticed in that article, and in others, is that I largely refrain from using the term ‘vegan’.

Yes, in a way you could describe my diet as being vegan, but I thought I’d explain today why I lean towards using the phrase ‘whole-food plant based’. It’s mainly to do with health implications and accessibility, which I’ll expand on hopefully in a non-preachy, non-high-horsey sort of way…

MY WHOLE-FOOD PLANT BASED DIET

Just to recap, my diet consists primarily of whole foods. Fresh fruits and veg, organic if possible; with some wholegrains…

View original post 944 more words

Leave a Reply

